Tags

, , , , , ,

As a rule, I don’t title my photos. Many other photographers do title their photos. It just isn’t something that I regularly do with photos that I display. This photo is one of my exceptions. The photography niche is stock photography. The location is Shoreline Village in Long Beach, California, in the summer of 2007.

Sometimes, in my opinion, titling photos might “limit” the experience of the photo viewer. Many photographs speak for themselves. And many photographs appeal to viewers beyond what is “obvious” to most viewers. People that appreciate photography for what it evokes prefer (it seems) to know ‘something’ about the photo.

Photos used for photography marketing purposes fare better when they’re easier to understand. For the viewer, the photography niche is almost immaterial to them.

What do you think?

